Mushroom Stroganoff

One day, when having dinner at the in-law’s house, Mr. AA’s mum had made a beef stroganoff for the family; it had been YEARS since I’d eaten stroganoff – so a few days later, when it had finally eaten away at me enough, I called and asked her for her recipe. This is my [vegan, gluten free] version of it! It serves 6 hungry people and is freezer friendly.

Mushroom Strog

Ingredients
750g Button Mushrooms, quartered or chopped fairly chunky (this is the “meat” of the dish)
1.5 Cups Cooked Kidney Beans (1x 440g tin)
1 Brown Onion, diced
3-4 Garlic Cloves, minced/finely chopped
140g Salt Free Tomato Paste
1-2 Cups of Stock (I used Massel “chicken” stock, which is gluten free)
A splash of red wine* (optional but highly recommended)
1 tsp tamari** or soy sauce
Cashew Cream (recipe follows)
A CRAPLOAD of freshly cracked pepper
2 TBSP Lemon Juice
Fresh Parsley (to serve)

  • To make your cashew cream, blend 1/2 cup unsalted cashews with 1/2-3/4 cup water. If you don’t have a high speed blender, you may want to soak or blanch the cashews first so that your cream isn’t grainy. It should be really smooth.
  • Sautรฉ your onion. When it starts getting a bit of a tan, add the garlic, followed closely by the mushrooms.
  • Add kidney beans, tomato paste, stock, wine, tamari/soy sauce & cashew cream. Stir through.
  • Add a crapload of cracked pepper – go on, don’t be shy!
  • Turn off the heat, stir through the lemon juice and serve on brown rice with fresh parsley.

OK – really, you could use any kind of rice/pasta/noodles… I’m just trying to encourage you to have healthy bowel movements. Let’s face it – nobody likes to be constipated.

*Traditionally, you would use sherry in stroganoff but since I’m not much of a booze hag, I don’t have any lying around at home. Red wine definitely does the trick here.

**Tamari is the gluten free version of soy sauce. If anyone eating this dish has celiac disease, make sure you do the right thing by them.

>>

EDIT: You may only need 1 cup of stock, depending on personal preference.

10 thoughts on “Mushroom Stroganoff

  1. Oh wow! I wouldn’t have ever even thought about making a vegan Stroganoff, I wouldn’t have known how to sub the sour cream so this recipe soudns amazing thankyou! And gluten free aswell, This is something I will definatly be making since I have a feeling I am gluten intol!!!

    • Yup… The best sour cream sub is cashew cream with lemon juice or apple cider vinegar. The weird pre-made stuff you can get at specialty/health food stores is pretty foul!

      Vegans don’t miss out on anything ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I nave this amazing recipe on this week’s menu. Then I remembered that my stepson doesn’t like mushrooms. My husband said he could pick out the mushrooms but I said that would be a bit difficult for this recipe ๐Ÿ™‚
    But,as it turns out, my stepson won’t be here this week, so it’s back on the menu. Can’t wait to try it. Will let you know.

  3. Pingback: Day 289 – Mushroom Stroganoff gluten free | Coeliac diagnosis – Gluten Free OMG!

Chow down on this!